20 August 2018   HOME|FORUM| ADD URL| SEARCH|



Powered by

Keep informed. Subscribe to our free 

Subscribe to the Sol-Gel Gateway News Alert mailing List

mailing list


Gordon & Breach Science Publishers

Ingenta, your bibliographic source online


Jeff Brinker is the winner of the 2002 Lawrence Award in the Category "Materials Research"

Jeff Brinker
WASHINGTON, D.C. - Secretary of Energy Spencer Abraham today named the seven winners of the E.O. Lawrence Award. Each winner will receive a gold medal, a citation and $25,000. The award is given for outstanding contributions in the field of atomic energy, which today has influenced many fields of science such as environmental research, materials science and nuclear medicine that were in their infancy in 1960 when the first Lawrence Award was given.

"We are all enriched by the contributions these researchers have made ranging from understanding the genetic code to measuring the expansion of the universe itself," Secretary Abraham said.

Brinker, a chemist, will receive the award in the MATERIALS RESEARCH category for his innovations in sol-gel chemistry to create nanostructured materials that have applications to energy, manufacturing, defense and medicine. Brinker is a senior scientist at Sandia Labs, professor of chemistry and chemical and nuclear engineering at the University of New Mexico and co-director of the University's Center for Micro-Engineered Materials.

The Lawrence Award was established in 1959 to honor the memory of the late Dr. Ernest Orlando Lawrence who invented the cyclotron (a particle accelerator) and after whom two major Energy Department laboratories in Berkeley and Livermore, Calif., are named. The award is given in seven categories for outstanding contributions in the field of atomic energy, broadly defined. The Lawrence Awards will be presented at a ceremony in Washington, D.C., on October 28.

The other winners are:

  • LIFE SCIENCE: Claire M. Fraser, The Institute for Genomic Research, Rockville, Md.
  • NATIONAL SECURITY: Bruce T. Goodwin, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore, Calif.
  • CHEMISTRY: Keith O. Hodgson, Stanford University and the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC), Stanford, Calif.
  • PHYSICS: Saul Perlmutter, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, Calif.
  • ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY: Benjamin D. Santer, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore, Calif.
  • NUCLEAR TECHNOLOGY: Paul J. Turinsky, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, N.C.
About us   |  Contact    | Editorial Board|

Copyright 2000-2018, SolGel.com. All rights reserved. Disclaimer